GE-RM
Enns in Salzburg

The river Enns: People, river and nature

The source of the Enns is located in the Radstädter Tauern at an altitude of 1,735 m above sea level. The river is strongly influenced by its alpine catchment area in Salzburg. On its way the river covers 1,505 metres in altitude until it flows into the Danube between the towns Enns and Mauthausen at 245 m above sea level.

Looking at the structures that the Enns would naturally form in the study area, gravel banks, alternating shallow and steep banks with eroded sections dominate.

GE-RM
Enns in Salzburg

The river Enns: People, river and nature

The source of the Enns is located in the Radstädter Tauern at an altitude of 1,735 m above sea level. The river is strongly influenced by its alpine catchment area in Salzburg. On its way the river covers 1,505 metres in altitude until it flows into the Danube between the towns Enns and Mauthausen at 245 m above sea level.

Looking at the structures that the Enns would naturally form in the study area, gravel banks, alternating shallow and steep banks with eroded sections dominate.

In the GE-RM, the Enns between the border to Styria and the confluence of the Grießbach with the Enns in Flachau as well as the lowest section of the river Taurach and its tributaries in the municipalities of Radstadt, Altenmarkt and Flachau were considered.

Overview flood risk and ecological status

The inventories resulting from the preliminary study are used to close knowledge gaps that exist with regard to flood risk and river ecology. The aim is to identify sectoral deficits and comparing them with the existing objectives in order to draw up a concept of measures based on them. The diagram provides a summary of the deficits of the rivers Enns and Taurach. While the flood risk is relatively low due to the extensive measures already implemented, ecological deficits dominate over the entire investigated stretch:

Defizite Enns Salzburg

Download detailed reports

All details on the inventories, existing deficits as well as the results of the target definitions and the needs for action can be read in the detailed reports (in German).

Deficits and opportunities

Deficits

Ecological status

The river regulation measures completed in the 1980s massively changed the Enns in Salzburg. The river was straightened and routed in a trapezoidal profile. The social goals of the time, to increase agricultural productivity and flood protection, were achieved. What remained, however, was a poor-structured river with steep, rock-secured banks. The character of a natural watercourse was lost. Due to the regulation works, the Salzburg Enns today has a moderate or worse ecological status.

Begradigung Enns
Bachforelle

Fish fauna

Current studies show that hardly any fish still live in the Enns. Their frequency and biomass are low, the status of the fish fauna is consequently poor to bad.

This is not only due to the lack of habitats for fish in the Enns itself. In many cases, the tributaries are in poor ecological condition. Some mouths are not passable for fish. Where riparian woods are missing, waters can overheat and nutrients pollute the water.

The brown trout is the so-called leading species in the entire study area and was detected at every monitoring site. However, the so-called biomass – which is simply put the weight of all fish – is problematic since it is far too low. There are also deficits with regard to the different age stages of fish.

Even though the course of the Enns was already influenced by the increasing use of the Enns valley at the time the Franziszeische Kataster was drawn up – the Radstadt sheet was drawn in 1829 – the map still shows a much more curved water course and also some small islands within the Enns:

franziszeiischer Kataster

Flood risk

In the last 20 years, numerous measures have already been implemented to protect settlements almost entirely against a 100-year flood. Nevertheless, buildings, roads and infrastructure are at risk of flooding – especially if the interaction with torrents flowing into the Enns is taken into account. Furthermore, events beyond the 100-year event cannot be ruled out. Supplementary to additional structural measures, the so-called residual risk must be reduced through non-structural measures such as disaster control planning and risk communication.

Überflutungen Enns

Opportunities

Nature protection

Floodplains and wetlands have always accompanied the Enns River in. Some of them were preserved until today and are now protected, for example the Iris meadows or the Mandlinger Moor. They are the starting point for ecological improvements. When considered together, mutual synergies can arise for the different ecosystems.

Of course, the species that use these ecosystems as their habitat also benefit from this. In the Mandlinger Moor, for example, the Large White-faced Darter (also called Yellow-spotted Whiteface) can be found. This dragonfly has only been found at this single location in inner alpine Salzburg.

Große Moosjungfer
Enns Maßnahme Altenmarkt

Recreation and leisure

Enns and Taurach are popular local recreation areas for locals and guests. Walking, hiking and cycling paths run along their banks. Often there are opportunities to experience the element of water up close. Measures that actually serve flood protection or ecological improvement can also take up this aspect. After all, who doesn’t like to spend time by the water and experience a living river up close?

An example of this is an already implemented measure on the Enns in Altenmarkt, whose primary objective was flood protection. However, due to the proximity to the settlement, the area of the measure also became an attractive local recreation area.

Measures

The concept of measures is based on the described deficits and opportunities and was developed by the GE-RM team in an interdisciplinary manner. In the process, appropriate types of measures were selected from a nationwide standardised list of measures. The individual measures or bundles of measures are described in a separate report in the form of fact sheets and located in maps.

Each measure or bundle of measures was assessed from a technical point of view with regard to its relevance for the achievement of objectives and was assigned a priority. The creation process was concluded with a public participation event, at which feedback on the concept of measures was collected and taken into account.

Overview Measures Enns – Salzburg

Hochwasserschutz Isel Drau

39 measures for reduction of flood risk 

Measures to reduce and avoid flood risks can be very different. The most effective measures are combinations of structural and non-structural measures. In the GE-RM Enns 39 measures are proposed to protect the population from floods. These range from the preservation and protection of existing retention areas to the construction of retention basins and dams and to the protection of individual objects. In the planning process, these measures were coordinated with ecological objectives in order to use synergies.

Durchgängigkeit

13 measures to improve river continuity

Fish migrate naturally.  This enables them to use different habitats. For example, different habitat characteristics are important for reproduction than for growth or nutrition. Therefore, fish migrate within river systems to find the optimal conditions for their needs. Today, numerous artificial barriers impair fish migration. In order to allow fish and organisms to migrate again, 13 measures to improve continuity are proposed on the river Enns in Salzburg.

Gewässermorphologie

36 measures to improve river morphology

To gain land for settlements and agriculture, many of our rivers have been straightened and regulated. As a result, the typical morphology of the river is restricted and therefore important habitats in the water and on land are usually missing. For example, gravel banks and islands are crucial for so-called gravel spawners (i.e. fish that depend on gravel for spawning) or for birds that breed in these places. 36 of the proposed measures focus on improving the morphological conditions of the water bodies, whereby these measures also partly support the objectives of flood risk management.

Example of a concept of measures

The map shows an example of the concept of mesures for a section of the GE-RM Enns in the area of Radstadt Ort and Taurach. The Enns is strongly regulated in this area, therefore the concept provides for numerous measures to revitalise the Enns. Flood protection for Radstadt in the area of the sawmill is also taken into account. Another focus is on risk communication and the preparation of disaster control plans.

Maßnahmenkarte Beispiel Enns

Maps & Reports

All proposed measures from the GE-RM Enns and Taurach are presented by means of measure maps, fact sheets, a comprehensive report and a summary layman’s report (all in German):


Photo credit:

Example of measures local recreation and leisure & example map concept of measures: Land Salzburg

GE-RM Enns in Salzburg

Die Enns: Mensch, Fluss und Natur

Die Enns entspringt in den Radstädter Tauern auf einer Höhe von 1.735 m über dem Meeresspiegel und ist in Salzburg stark von ihrem alpinen Einzugsgebiet geprägt. Auf ihrem Weg legt sie 1.505 Höhenmeter zurück, bis sie zwischen der Stadt Enns und Mauthausen auf 245 m Seehöhe in die Donau mündet.

Betrachtet man die Strukturen, welche die Enns im Untersuchungsgebiet natürlicherweise ausbilden würde, so dominieren Kiesbänke, abwechselnde Flach- und Steiluferbereiche mit unterspülten Anbruchufern.

Im GE-RM wurde einerseits die Enns zwischen der Landesgrenze zur Steiermark bis zur Einmündung des Grießbaches in die Enns in der Flachau sowie der unterste Abschnitt der Taurach und deren Zubringer in den Gemeindegebieten von Radstadt, Altenmarkt und Flachau betrachtet.

Überblick Hochwasserrisiko und gewässerökologischer Zustand

Im Anschluss an die Vorstudie werden die Bestandsaufnahmen dazu genutzt, Wissenslücken, die bezüglich Hochwasserrisiko und Gewässerökologie bestehen, zu schließen. Das Ziel ist es, sektorale Defizite zu identifizieren, um darauf aufbauend – nach einem Abgleich mit den bestehenden Zielsetzungen – ein Maßnahmenkonzept zu erstellen. Die Grafik liefert eine Zusammenfassung der Defizite an der Enns und der Taurach. Während das Hochwasserrisiko durch die umfangreichen, bereits gesetzten Maßnahmen vergleichsweise gering ist, dominieren gewässerökologische Defizite über die gesamte betrachtete Strecke:

Detailberichte zum Download

Alle Details zu den Bestandsaufnahmen, den bestehenden Defiziten sowie die Ergebnisse der Zieldefinitionen und der Definition des Handlungsbedarfs können in den detaillierten Berichten nachgelesen werden.

Defizite und Chancen

Defizite

Ökologischer Zustand

Die in den 1980ern abgeschlossenen Regulierungsmaßnahmen veränderten die Salzburger Enns massiv. Der Fluss wurde begradigt und in einem Trapezprofil geführt. Das damalige gesellschaftliche Ziel, die landwirtschaftliche Produktivität und Hochwassersicherheit zu erhöhen, wurde erreicht. Zurück blieb jedoch ein weitgehend strukturarmer Fluss mit steilen, steingesicherten Ufern. Der Charakter eines naturnahen Gewässers ging verloren. Durch die Regulierung weist die Salzburger Enns heute durchwegs einen mäßigen oder schlechteren ökologischen Zustand auf.

Begradigung Enns
Bachforelle

Fischfauna

Aktuelle Untersuchungen zeigen, dass in der Enns kaum noch Fische leben. Ihre Dichte und Biomasse sind gering, der Zustand der Fischfauna folglich unbefriedigend bis schlecht.

Dies liegt nicht nur an den fehlenden Lebensräumen für Fische an der Enns selbst. Vielfach sind die Zubringerbäche in einem unbefriedigenden ökologischen Zustand. Einige Mündungen sind für Fische nicht passierbar. Wo Ufergehölze fehlen, können Gewässer überhitzen und Nährstoffe das Wasser verschmutzen.

Die Bachforelle ist im gesamten Untersuchungsraum die sogenannte Leitart und konnte auch an jedem Befischungsstandort nachgewiesen werden. Problematisch ist jedoch die sogenannte Biomasse, vereinfacht gesagt das Gewicht aller Fische – dieses ist vergleichsweise viel zu gering. Auch bezüglich der unterschiedlichen Altersstadien bestehen Defizite.

Auch wenn zum Zeitpunkt der Erstellung des Franziszeischen Kataster – das Blatt von Radstadt wurde 1829 gezeichnet – der Verlauf der Enns schon durch die zunehmende Nutzung des Enns-Tales beeinflusst war, zeigt der Kartenausschnitt dennoch einen weitaus geschwungeneren Verlauf und auch kleinere Inseln innerhalb der Enns:

franziszeiischer Kataster

Hochwasserrisiko

In den letzten 20 Jahren wurden schon zahlreiche Maßnahmen umgesetzt, die die Siedlungen fast durchgehend gegen ein 100-jährliches Hochwasser schützen. Dennoch sind Gebäude, Straßen und Infrastrukturen von Überflutung bedroht – insbesondere, wenn man das Zusammenspiel mit den in die Enns einmündenden Wildbächen berücksichtigt. Des Weiteren sind Ereignisse, die über das 100-jährliche Ereignis hinausgehen, nicht auszuschließen. Hier gilt es – neben zusätzlichen baulichen Maßnahmen – vor allem über nicht-bauliche Maßnahmen wie Katastrophenschutzplanung und Risikokommunikation das sogenannte Restrisiko zu reduzieren.

Überflutungen Enns

Chancen

Naturschutz

Seit jeher begleiten Auen und Feuchtgebiete die Salzburger Enns. Einige davon haben sich bis heute erhalten und stehen unter Schutz, zum Beispiel die Iris-Wiesen oder das Mandlinger Moor. Sie sind Ausgangspunkt für ökologische Verbesserungen. Bei gemeinsamer Betrachtung können wechselseitige Synergien für die unterschiedlichen Ökosysteme entstehen.

Davon profitieren natürlich auch die Arten, welche diese Ökosysteme als ihren Lebensraum nutzen. Im Mandlinger Moor ist beispielsweise die Große Moosjungfer anzutreffen. Diese Libelle ist nur an diesem einzigen Standort im inneralpinen Salzburg nachgewiesen.

Große Moosjungfer
Enns Maßnahme Altenmarkt

Naherholung und Freizeit

Enns und Taurach sind beliebte Naherholungsgebiete für Einheimische und Gäste. An ihren Ufern verlaufen Geh-, Wander- und Radwege. Immer wieder bieten sich Möglichkeiten, das Element Wasser hautnah zu erleben. Maßnahmen, die eigentlich dem Hochwasserschutz oder der Ökologie dienen, können dabei auch diesen Aspekt aufgreifen. Denn wer hält sich nicht gerne am Wasser auf und erlebt einen lebendigen Fluss hautnah?

Ein Beispiel dafür ist die bereits umgesetzte Maßnahme an der Enns in Altenmarkt, deren primäre Zielsetzung der Hochwasserschutz war. Durch die Siedlungsnähe wurde der Maßnahmenbereich jedoch auch zum reizvollen Naherholungsgebiet.

Maßnahmen

Das Maßnahmenkonzept baut auf den beschriebenen Defiziten und Chancen auf und wurde vom gesamten Bearbeitungsteam interdisziplinär erarbeitet. Dabei wurden aus einer bundesweit einheitlichen Maßnahmenliste entsprechende Maßnahmentypen ausgewählt und verortet. Die einzelnen Maßnahmen bzw. Maßnahmenbündel sind in einem eigenständigen Bericht in Form von Steckbriefen beschrieben und in Maßnahmenkarten verortet.

Jede Maßnahme bzw. jedes Maßnahmenbündel wurde aus fachlicher Sicht hinsichtlich der Relevanz für die Zielerreichung beurteilt und mit einer entsprechenden Priorität versehen. Abschluss des Erstellungsprozesses stellte eine Veranstaltung zur Beteiligung der Öffentlichkeit dar, bei der Rückmeldungen zum Maßnahmenkonzept gesammelt und berücksichtigt wurden.

Überblick Maßnahmen Enns – Salzburg

Hochwasserschutz Isel Drau

39 Maßnahmen zur Reduktion des Hochwasserrisikos

Maßnahmen zur Reduktion und zur Vermeidung von Hochwasserrisiken können sehr unterschiedlich sein. Am effektivsten sind Maßnahmenkombinationen aus baulichen und nicht-baulichen Maßnahmen. Im GE-RM Enns wurden 39 Maßnahmenvorschläge zum Schutz der Bevölkerung vor Hochwasser definiert. Diese reichen von der Erhaltung und Sicherung bestehender Retentionsräume über die Errichtung von Rückhaltebecken und Dämmen bis hin zum Objektschutz. Im Planungsprozess wurden diese Maßnahmen mit gewässerökologischen Zielsetzungen abgestimmt, um Synergien zu nutzen.

Durchgängigkeit

13 Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Durchgängigkeit

Fische wandern von Natur aus.  Das ermöglicht es ihnen, verschiedene Lebensräume zu nutzen. Für die Fortpflanzung sind beispielsweise andere Faktoren von Bedeutung als für Aufwuchs oder Ernährung. Deswegen wandern Fische innerhalb der Flusssysteme, um die optimalen Bedingungen für die jeweiligen Bedürfnisse zu finden. Heute wird dies durch zahlreiche künstliche Hindernisse beinträchtigt. Um den Fischen und Organismen wieder einen freien Weg flussaufwärts zu ermöglichen, wurden an der Salzburger Enns 13 Maßnahmenvorschläge definiert.

Gewässermorphologie

36 Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Gewässermorphologie

Zur Gewinnung von Flächen, die für Siedlungen und Landwirtschaft genutzt werden können, wurden viele unserer Flüsse begradigt und reguliert. Dadurch ist die typische Morphologie des Flusses eingeschränkt. In der Regel fehlen dadurch wichtige Lebensräume im Wasser und an Land. Beispielweise sind Schotterbänke und -inseln ganz entscheidend für sogenannte Kieslaicher (also Fische, die beim Laichen auf Kies angewiesen sind) oder auch Vögel, die an diesen Orten brüten. 36 der definierten Maßnahmenvorschläge fokussieren auf die Verbesserung der Gewässermorphologie, wobei diese Maßnahmen auch teilweise die Ziele des Hochwasserrisikomanagements unterstützen.

Beispiel Maßnahmenkonzept

Die Karte zeigt beispielhaft einen Ausschnitt aus dem Maßnahmenkonzept des GE-RM Enns für den Bereich Radstadt Ort und Taurach. Die Enns ist in diesem Bereich stark reguliert, daher sieht das Konzept zahlreiche Maßnahmen zur Revitalisierung der Enns vor. Auch der Hochwasserschutz für Radstadt im Bereich des Sägewerks wird berücksichtigt. Einen weiteren Schwerpunkt stellen Risikokommunikation sowie die Erstellung von Katastrophenschutzplänen dar.

Maßnahmenkarte Beispiel Enns

Karten und Berichte

Alle Maßnahmenvorschläge aus dem GE-RM Enns und Taurach sind anhand von Maßnahmenkarten, Steckbriefen, einem umfassenden Bericht sowie einem zusammenfassenden Laienbericht dargestellt:


Fotonachweis:

Maßnahmenbeispiel Naherholung und Freizeit & Beispielkarte Maßnahmenkonzept: Land Salzburg