LAFNITZ

Description of the project area

The project area comprises the river Lafnitz with a total length of approximately 110 km. The Lafnitz originates in Styria above “Lafnitzeck” and forms the Styrian-Burgenland border over long stretches. South of the municipality Fürstenfeld it flows into the Raab, which then runs in a large curve from the East Styrian Hills towards the Hungarian Plains. The catchment area of the Lafnitz is 1 994 km². During a 100-year flood event (HQ100), the flow at the mouth of the river is about 900 m³/s. The largest tributaries of the Lafnitz are the rivers Safen, Rittschein and Feistritz.

The river’s gradient successively decreases from 15 ‰ in the upper reaches (Waldbach estuary) to 6 ‰ in the middle reaches and 1,2 ‰ in the lower reaches.

The character of the river also changes continuously. In the upper reaches, the Lafnitz quickly develops into a torrent due to inflowing spring streams. It then flows through relatively straight, deeply incised valleys. After leaving the crystalline basement (Rohrbach-Lafnitz), the Lafnitz runs as an increasingly meandering river into the lowlands.

In the border section between Burgenland and Styria the Lafnitz remained mostly unregulated and is therefore important from a natural and river morphological point of view. Due to the still existing natural river dynamics (“dynamic equilibrium”), the riverbed, banks and meadows are naturally subject to constant changes. These dynamics become particularly evident, where the political boundaries deviate from the actual river course of the Lafnitz.

Another specific feature of the river is the fact that in the middle and lower reaches the Lafnitz does not flow at the lowest point of the valley – it forms a naturally dammed river. The decreasing gradient and bank vegetation lead to a reduction of the flow velocity. This causes solid and suspended matter to deposit, forming embankments and raising the riverbed. These embankments drop steeply towards riverbed, while they are rather flat towards the floodplain.

LAFNITZ

Description of the project area

The project area comprises the river Lafnitz with a total length of approximately 110 km. The Lafnitz originates in Styria above “Lafnitzeck” and forms the Styrian-Burgenland border over long stretches. South of the municipality Fürstenfeld it flows into the Raab, which then runs in a large curve from the East Styrian Hills towards the Hungarian Plains. The catchment area of the Lafnitz is 1 994 km². During a 100-year flood event (HQ100), the flow at the mouth of the river is about 900 m³/s. The largest tributaries of the Lafnitz are the rivers Safen, Rittschein and Feistritz.

The river’s gradient successively decreases from 15 ‰ in the upper reaches (Waldbach estuary) to 6 ‰ in the middle reaches and 1,2 ‰ in the lower reaches.

The character of the river also changes continuously. In the upper reaches, the Lafnitz quickly develops into a torrent due to inflowing spring streams. It then flows through relatively straight, deeply incised valleys. After leaving the crystalline basement (Rohrbach-Lafnitz), the Lafnitz runs as an increasingly meandering river into the lowlands.

In the border section between Burgenland and Styria the Lafnitz remained mostly unregulated and is therefore important from a natural and river morphological point of view. Due to the still existing natural river dynamics (“dynamic equilibrium”), the riverbed, banks and meadows are naturally subject to constant changes. These dynamics become particularly evident, where the political boundaries deviate from the actual river course of the Lafnitz.

Another specific feature of the river is the fact that in the middle and lower reaches the Lafnitz does not flow at the lowest point of the valley – it forms a naturally dammed river. The decreasing gradient and bank vegetation lead to a reduction of the flow velocity. This causes solid and suspended matter to deposit, forming embankments and raising the riverbed. These embankments drop steeply towards riverbed, while they are rather flat towards the floodplain.

Hot Spots & Highlights

The Lafnitz and adjacent areas, which are designated for passive flood protection to the extent of around 300 hectares, have been declared as NATURA 2000 protected areas. For another 400 hectares of agricultural land management restrictions can be imposed with possible one-time compensation. In spring 2002, the Lafnitztal valley was declared a RAMSAR area. In addition, the Lafnitz serves as a reference river for the river type “near-natural lowland rivers” in the municipalities of Altenmarkt and Fürstenfeld in accordance with the EU Water Framework Directive.

Two cross-border LIFE-Nature projects, supported by the federal states of Styria, Burgenland and Hungary, aimed to eliminate existing deficits on the Lafnitz river in accordance with the EU Water Framework Directive. For this purpose, longitudinal continuity interruptions (obstacles for upstream or downstream fish migration) were removed, habitats were re-connected and the natural river landscape was secured.

Need for action

In the 1960-1980s, the Lafnitz valley was repeatedly hit by catastrophic floods. As a result, four water boards were founded to implement flood protection measures. The activities concentrated on the affected settlement areas of Rohrbach a.d.L., Lafnitz, Wörth, Neudau, Rudersdorf and Dobersdorf. Initially, so-called linear regulation works were implemented in combination with retention dams and flood spillways. Where a large-scale reduction of flood peaks was not possible, but suitable valley formations were found, flood retention systems were built. Nevertheless, there is still a great need for action to protect settlements in these areas.

From an ecological point of view, there is a considerable need for action due to the existing water diversions, sediment input from agricultural land and a dramatic decline in fish biomass. Several stretches of the river Lafnitz fail the objective of good ecological status.

Goals

The River Development and Risk Management Concept (GE-RM), which will be elaborated and coordinated by the Federal River Engineering Administrations of Styria and Burgenland on a supra-regional basis, is intended to define future flood protection engineering and measures for improving river ecology – in consensus with existing uses – in an integrative participation process.

Building on this, pilot measures will be implemented in the frame of the IRIS-Project. In the Styrian municipality of Neudau, measures for flood protection will be implemented in combination with the improvement of the Lafnitz habitat. In the Burgenland municipality of Königsdorf, which is heavily used for agriculture, biological diversity will be increased by re-connecting the Lafnitzt with several small sidearms in the estuary area of the river Rittschein.

Outlook and time plan

By the end of 2021, the “Lafnitz River Development and Risk Management Concept ” will be finalised. Involvement of stakeholders and the public in the planning process is planned in order to achieve the best possible identification and acceptance with the proposed measures. Once the GE-RM concept is in place, detailed projects will be developed for pilot measures to be implemented by mid-2026.

LIFE IP IRIS: Lafnitz Pilot Area

GE-RM | Measures

Eine Landkarte mit einer Hervorhebung des Flusses Lafnitz

Lafnitz

Beschreibung des Projektgebietes

Das Projektgebiet umfasst die rund 110 km lange Lafnitz, die in der Steiermark oberhalb von „Lafnitzeck“ entspringt. Die Lafnitz bildet über weite Strecken die steirisch-burgenländische Grenze und mündet schließlich südlich von Fürstenfeld in die Raab, die ihrerseits in einem großen Bogen aus dem oststeirischen Hügelland kommend in Richtung kleiner ungarischer Tiefebene fließt. Das Einzugsgebiet der Lafnitz beträgt 1 994 km². Bei einem 100-jährlichen Hochwasserereignis (HQ100) beträgt der Abfluss an der Mündung rund 900 m³/s. Die größten Zubringer sind die rechtsufrig einmündenden Gewässer Safen, Rittschein und Feistritz.

Das Sohlgefälle verringert sich sukzessive von 15 ‰ im Oberlauf (Waldbachmündung) auf 6 ‰ im Mittellauf und 1,2 ‰ im Unterlauf.

Die Grenzstrecke zwischen dem Burgenland und der Steiermark ist überwiegend unverbaut geblieben und daher aus naturräumlicher und flussmorphologischer Sicht bedeutend. Durch die noch weitgehend vorhandene, natürliche Flussdynamik („Dynamisches Gleichgewicht“) unterliegen Sohle, Ufer und Aue ständigen Veränderungen. Dies zeigt sich besonders daran, dass die politischen Grenzen in vielen Abschnitten vom tatsächlichen Verlauf der Lafnitz abweichen.

Dass die Lafnitz im Mittel- und Unterlauf nicht in der tiefsten Lage des Tales fließt – sie bildet hier einen Dammuferfluss – ist ein weiteres Merkmal dieses Flusses. Abnehmendes Sohlgefälle und Uferbewuchs führen zur Verringerung der Strömungsgeschwindigkeit. Dadurch setzen sich Fest- und Schwebstoffe ab, die Uferdämme bilden und das Flussbett anheben. Diese Uferdämme fallen zum Gewässer hin relativ steil ab, landseitig laufen sie hingegen flach aus.

Lafnitz

Beschreibung des Projektgebietes

Das Projektgebiet umfasst die rund 110 km lange Lafnitz, die in der Steiermark oberhalb von „Lafnitzeck“ entspringt. Die Lafnitz bildet über weite Strecken die steirisch-burgenländische Grenze und mündet schließlich südlich von Fürstenfeld in die Raab, die ihrerseits in einem großen Bogen aus dem oststeirischen Hügelland kommend in Richtung kleiner ungarischer Tiefebene fließt. Das Einzugsgebiet der Lafnitz beträgt 1 994 km². Bei einem 100-jährlichen Hochwasserereignis (HQ100) beträgt der Abfluss an der Mündung rund 900 m³/s. Die größten Zubringer sind die rechtsufrig einmündenden Gewässer Safen, Rittschein und Feistritz.

Das Sohlgefälle verringert sich sukzessive von 15 ‰ im Oberlauf (Waldbachmündung) auf 6 ‰ im Mittellauf und 1,2 ‰ im Unterlauf.

Auch der Charakter des Flusses ändert sich fortlaufend. Im Oberlauf entwickelt sich die Lafnitz durch zufließende Quellbäche rasch zu einem Wildbach. Anschließend fließt sie in relativ gestreckten, tief eingeschnittenen Tälern. Nach dem Austritt aus dem kristallinen Grundgebirge (Rohrbach-Lafnitz) verläuft die Lafnitz als immer stärker mäandrierender Fluss bis ins Tiefland.

Die Grenzstrecke zwischen dem Burgenland und der Steiermark ist überwiegend unverbaut geblieben und daher aus naturräumlicher und flussmorphologischer Sicht bedeutend. Durch die noch weitgehend vorhandene, natürliche Flussdynamik („Dynamisches Gleichgewicht“) unterliegen Sohle, Ufer und Aue ständigen Veränderungen. Dies zeigt sich besonders daran, dass die politischen Grenzen in vielen Abschnitten vom tatsächlichen Verlauf der Lafnitz abweichen.

Dass die Lafnitz im Mittel- und Unterlauf nicht in der tiefsten Lage des Tales fließt – sie bildet hier einen Dammuferfluss – ist ein weiteres Merkmal dieses Flusses. Abnehmendes Sohlgefälle und Uferbewuchs führen zur Verringerung der Strömungsgeschwindigkeit. Dadurch setzen sich Fest- und Schwebstoffe ab, die Uferdämme bilden und das Flussbett anheben. Diese Uferdämme fallen zum Gewässer hin relativ steil ab, landseitig laufen sie hingegen flach aus.

Hotspots & Highlights

Die Lafnitz und angrenzende, für passiven Hochwasserschutz im Ausmaß von rund 300 Hektar abgelöste Flächen sind als NATURA-2000-Schutzgebiet ausgewiesen. Weitere mehr als 400 Hektar landwirtschaftlich genutzte Flächen konnten durch einmalige Entschädigungen mit Bewirtschaftungsbeschränkungen belegt werden. Im Frühjahr 2002 wurde das Lafnitztal zum RAMSAR-Gebiet erklärt. Außerdem dient die Lafnitz im Bereich der Gemeinden Altenmarkt und Fürstenfeld als Referenzstrecke für naturnahe Tieflandflüsse im Sinne der EU-Wasserrahmenrichtlinie.

Zwei grenzüberschreitende LIFE-Natur Projekte, getragen von den Bundesländern Steiermark und Burgenland sowie Ungarn, hatten das Ziel, bestehende Defizite an der Lafnitz im Sinne der EU-Wasserrahmenrichtlinie zu beseitigen. Dazu wurden Kontinuumsunterbrechungen (Unterbindungen oder Erschwerungen für flussauf oder flussab gerichtete Wanderungen in Gewässern) beseitigt, Lebensräume vernetzt und der naturbelassene Flussraum gesichert.

Ziele

Das von den Bundeswasserbauverwaltungen Steiermark und Burgenland länderübergreifend ausgearbeitete und abgestimmte Gewässerentwicklungs- und Risikomanagementkonzept (GE-RM) soll künftige schutzwasserbauliche und gewässerökologische Maßnahmen – im Konsens mit bestehenden Nutzungen – in einem integrativen Beteiligungsprozess festlegen.

Darauf aufbauend werden erste Pilotmaßnahmen umgesetzt. In der steirischen Gemeinde Neudau soll der angestrebte Hochwasserschutz in Kombination mit der Verbesserung des Lebensraumes Lafnitz realisiert werden. In der burgenländischen Gemeinde Königsdorf ist angedacht, durch Vernetzung mehrerer kleiner Gewässer mit dem Mündungsbereich der Rittschein in die Lafnitz die biologische Vielfalt in diesem stark landwirtschaftlich genutzten Gebiet zu erhöhen.

Wussten Sie, dass…

… der Charakter der Lafnitz sich fortlaufend ändert? Im Oberlauf entwickelt sie sich durch zufließende Quellbäche rasch zu einem Wildbach. Anschließend fließt sie in relativ gestreckten, tief eingeschnittenen Tälern. Nach dem Austritt aus dem kristallinen Grundgebirge (Rohrbach-Lafnitz) verläuft die Lafnitz als immer stärker mäandrierender Fluss bis ins Tiefland.

Ausblick und Zeitplan

Bis Ende 2021 wird das „Gewässerentwicklungs- und Risikomanagementkonzept Lafnitz“ erstellt. Dabei ist die Einbeziehung von Stakeholdern und Bevölkerung vorgesehen, um eine bestmögliche Identifikation mit den vorgeschlagenen Maßnahmen zu erreichen. Liegt das GE-RM-Konzept vor, folgt die Ausarbeitung von Detailprojekten für Pilotmaßnahmen, die bis Mitte 2026 realisiert werden sollen.

Ende 2021: „Gewässerentwicklungs- und Risikomanagementkonzept Lafnitz“ wird erstellt
Mitte 2026: Pilotmaßnahmen werden realisiert

LIFE IP IRIS: Lafnitz Pilotgebiet

Vorstudie | GE-RM | Maßnahmen

Eine Landkarte mit einer Hervorhebung des Flusses Lafnitz